|
Author |
Message |
| Common
Ground / Security Blanket
- Computer Questions / New harassment technique |
Lunarlady Cast Member

Posts: 1629 Registered: Aug 2002
|
Posted
08-31-02 03:03 PM
Just a heads up to y'all with firewalls. For the past two days I've been getting a constant ping from the following Lycos addresses:
209.202.218.122
209.202.218.131
These pings come at an interval of 2 minutes each, down to the second. The only conclusion I can reach is that they've got some timed program set up to ping me so that my firewall will interrupt my surfing.
If you are also bothered by these attempts, I suggest you turn off just the notification of attempts and simply check the firewall once in awhile and report to your firewall service provider the attempts. I've also let Lycos know that they have a subscriber who's harassing me.
I'm not an AOL subscriber, so I feel that once this buffoon knew my IP address, he decided it might be funny to ping every few minutes. The fact that it's every two minutes to the second leads me to believe it's auto-programmed.
Just a heads up. Party hearty, folks.
A whole week of peaceful bliss, beginning with a giggle
and ending with a kiss. |
|
Mousefan Cast Member

Posts: 111 Registered: Aug 2002
|
Posted
09-01-02 08:20 AM
Last night I was getting contant pings from the following URL:
62.234.82.141
I wasn't able to get the trace route thing to work last night, but I'm going to check it today and see what I can discover.
Amy
|
|
Lunarlady Cast Member

Posts: 1629 Registered: Aug 2002
|
Posted
09-01-02 08:51 AM
This is what I found when I traced the address you gave:
Result of the Reverse Lookup
IP address Result
62.234.82.141 163dyn141.com21.casema.net [more info for this domain name]
WHOIS Query Result for 62.234.82.141:
inetnum 62.234.0.0 - 62.234.127.255
Origin WANADOO-CABLE
descr Wanadoo Cable
descr EuroNet Internet BV
descr Muiderstraat 1
descr 1011 PZ Amsterdam
country NL
Admin. Contact EIAR1-RIPE
Tech. Contact EIAR1-RIPE
status ASSIGNED PA
Notify registry@euro.net
mnt-by EURONET-MNT
changed registry@euro.net 20020108
source RIPE
route 62.234.0.0/16
descr EuroNet Internet
Origin AS5390
mnt-by EURONET-MNT
changed arjen@euro.net 20010730
source RIPE
role EuroNet Internet Administrative Role Account
address EuroNet Internet BV
address IKC / NOC
address Muiderstraat 1
address 1011 PZ Amsterdam
address The Netherlands
phone +31 20 535 5555
fax-no +31 20 535 5400
e-mail eiar1@euro.net
Admin. Contact AW2096-RIPE
Admin. Contact JA1078-RIPE
Tech. Contact BL78
Tech. Contact AJ856-RIPE
Tech. Contact PC2773-RIPE
Tech. Contact MA374-RIPE
Tech. Contact FB1141-RIPE
NIC Handle EIAR1-RIPE
remarks In case of abuse issues:
remarks - For WANADOO-CABLE blocks please contact abuse@casema.net
remarks - For all other blocks please contact abuse@euronet.nl
mnt-by EURONET-MNT
changed niels@euro.net 20000119
changed niels@euro.net 20000731
changed arjen@euro.net 20010717
changed arjen@euro.net 20011101
source RIPE
Thanks again to Coastal for the website: http://www.amnesi.com/hostinfo/ipinfo.jhtml
A whole week of peaceful bliss, beginning with a giggle
and ending with a kiss. |
|
Crank Administrator

Posts: 1957 Registered: Aug 2002
|
Posted
09-02-02 03:30 PM
quote: Lunarlady wrote:
This is what I found when I traced the address you gave:
Or, to be more precise:
N.V. Casema (CASEMA-DOM)
P.O. Box 345
Delft,
NL I like persons better than principles, and I like persons with no principles better than anything else in the world.
Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray, 1891
BOYCOTT FRENCH TOAST, GERMAN SAUSAGE AND BELGIAN CHOCOLATES
Crank-->
All Content is © the Poster and is to be considered Intellectual Property. All Rights Reserved. Though Brilliant, Breathtaking and Extrememly Well Written the Content contained herein is Opinion and Opinion only.
ib4cruzn at charter dot net
|
|
Crank Administrator

Posts: 1957 Registered: Aug 2002
|
Posted
09-02-02 03:33 PM
quote: Lunarlady wrote:
Just a heads up to y'all with firewalls. For the past two days I've been getting a constant ping from the following Lycos addresses:
209.202.218.122
This is from:
Wired Ventures, Ltd. (HOTWIRED2-DOM)
660 Third Street, 4th Fl.
San Francisco, CA 94107
US I like persons better than principles, and I like persons with no principles better than anything else in the world.
Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray, 1891
BOYCOTT FRENCH TOAST, GERMAN SAUSAGE AND BELGIAN CHOCOLATES
Crank-->
All Content is © the Poster and is to be considered Intellectual Property. All Rights Reserved. Though Brilliant, Breathtaking and Extrememly Well Written the Content contained herein is Opinion and Opinion only.
ib4cruzn at charter dot net
|
|
Lunarlady Cast Member

Posts: 1629 Registered: Aug 2002
|
Posted
09-02-02 04:50 PM
Thanks for tracing these, Crank! It's good to have an address!
Ooo..looky here, they've tried to mask!!! Searching for ISP address 216.136.233.134 attempting to access computer every 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Doesn't this clown have anything ELSE to do with their time?:
WHOIS Query Result for YAHOO.COM
cs47.msg.sc5.yahoo.com [web site]
IP: 216.136.233.134 (more info)
www.cs47.msg.sc5.yahoo.com [web site]
host not foundUse "The Domain Search" to find it.
home.cs47.msg.sc5.yahoo.com [web site]
host not foundUse "The Domain Search" to find it.
ftp.cs47.msg.sc5.yahoo.com [ftp site]
host not foundUse "The Domain Search" to find it.
Registrant:
Yahoo (YAHOO-DOM)
701 First Avenue
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
US
Domain Name: YAHOO.COM
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Administration, Domain (DA16065) domainadmin@YAHOO-INC.COM
Yahoo! Inc.
701 First Avenue
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
US
+1 408 731 3300 +1 408 731 3301
Record expires on 20-Jan-2010.
Record created on 18-Jan-1995.
Database last updated on 2-Sep-2002 17:00:01 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.YAHOO.COM 66.218.71.63
NS2.YAHOO.COM 209.132.1.28
NS3.YAHOO.COM 217.12.4.104
NS4.YAHOO.COM 63.250.206.138
NS5.YAHOO.COM 64.58.77.85
Yes, the attempts have re-started after being quiet all day. Only they've changed addresses slightly. Still coming out of California, though. Gee, who do we know in California?
Hmmm......
[Edited by Lunarlady]
A whole week of peaceful bliss, beginning with a giggle
and ending with a kiss. |
|
|
Common
Ground / Security Blanket
- Computer Questions / New harassment technique |
|